Abhay Singh Rathore, Lucknow: With the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2022 (UP Vidhansabha Chunav 2022) where all the political parties are busy in their preparations and handing over all the multiplication calculations regarding the distribution of tickets, the Samajwadi Party will announce the candidates. Getting tickets is a rage among people. Workers inside the SP’s office in Lucknow also chanted slogans in protest, a video of which went viral.

It is learned that all these activists were chanting slogans against the candidate for Kadipur assembly seat. Due to which SP workers have also demanded to change the candidate. In fact, the Samajwadi Party has fielded Bhageluram from Sultanpur’s Kadipur seat. Bhageluram left the Bahujan Samaj Party and joined the SP. This led to protests among the SP workers, which led to the workers who reached Lucknow expressing their displeasure at the SP office. According to reports, Bhagalu has been a three-time MLA and has the backing of strong Ambedkar Nagar leaders Ram Achal Rajbhar and Lalji Verma, so he is now in the fray on a SP ticket.

The Election Commission had on January 8 announced assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. Voting for the 403-seat 18th Assembly will take place in seven phases from February 10 to March 7. The election results will come on March 10. In UP, polling will be held in seven phases on February 10, February 14, February 20, February 23, February 27, March 3 and March 7.

The first phase will see voting in 58 seats in 11 districts of Western UP on February 10, the second phase on February 14 in 55 seats in 9 districts and the third phase on February 20 in 59 seats in 16 districts. . In the fourth phase, 60 seats in nine districts, including Lucknow, will go to polls on February 23. The fifth phase will see 60 seats in 11 districts on February 27, the sixth phase will have 57 seats in 10 districts on March 3 and the seventh and final phase will have 54 seats in 9 districts on March 7. The term of the 17th Legislative Assembly is till May 15.

Elections were held in 7 phases from 11 February to 8 March 2017 for 403 seats in the 17th Assembly. In that election, the BJP won 312 seats for the first time and secured a three-quarters majority in the UP Assembly. The Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance led by Akhilesh Yadav has won 54 seats. Apart from this, Mayawati’s BSP, which has been the chief minister of the state several times, was reduced to 19 seats. This time it is being considered as a direct confrontation between the Samajwadi Party and the BJP. The BJP is contesting the elections in the face of Yogi Adityanath and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Leave a Reply