• Abdullah Azam is the SP candidate from Swar seat.
  • Azam Khan’s wife filed the form as an independent
  • The decision was taken out of fear of Abdullah Azam’s paper being canceled

Abhay Singh Rathore, Lucknow: Political upheaval is going on with Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2022 (UP VIdhansabha Chunav 2022). At the same time, the Samajwadi Party has caused a stir in the political arena by fielding its strongest leader Azam Khan from the Rampur constituency. The SP has given tickets to Azam Khan and his son Abdullah Azam from the Swar assembly seat. Now news is coming that Tanzin Fatima, wife of Rampur MP Azam Khan, has also registered her candidature from this Swar seat.

Tanzin Fatima filled out the form from the vocal seat
Tanzin Fatima, wife of Rampur MP Azam Khan, is currently a Samajwadi Party MLA from Rampur Assembly seat. This time, the SP has fielded its strongest leader Azam Khan from the Rampur seat. At the same time, Azam’s son Abdullah Azam has been nominated for the Swar seat, but Azam Khan’s wife Tanzin Fatima has caused a stir in the political arena by registering her candidacy as an independent. At the same time, the reason behind Tanzeen Fatima’s filing of nomination papers from Swar seat is said to be that Abdullah Azam’s nomination paper will be rejected.

Azam Khan will contest from jail
In the 2017 Assembly elections, Abdullah Azam Swar won from the seat, but his Assembly was canceled by the High Court due to two birth certificates. Now the form was in danger of being canceled. That is why Tanzin Fatima has also filled the full form. At the same time, SP leader Azam Khan completed the nomination process from jail on Wednesday. His form was filled out on Thursday. Azam has been lodged in Sitapur Jail for the last two years, in some cases pending bail from the court, so he will contest the Assembly elections from the jail itself. At the same time, Azam’s son Abdullah Azam has recently been released on bail.

The Election Commission had on January 8 announced assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. Voting for the 403-seat 18th Assembly will take place in seven phases from February 10 to March 7. The election results will come on March 10. In UP, polling will be held in seven phases on February 10, February 14, February 20, February 23, February 27, March 3 and March 7.

The first phase will see voting in 58 seats in 11 districts of Western UP on February 10, the second phase on February 14 in 55 seats in 9 districts and the third phase on February 20 in 59 seats in 16 districts. . In the fourth phase, 60 seats in nine districts, including Lucknow, will go to polls on February 23. The fifth phase will see 60 seats in 11 districts on February 27, the sixth phase will have 57 seats in 10 districts on March 3 and the seventh and final phase will have 54 seats in 9 districts on March 7. The term of the 17th Legislative Assembly is till May 15.

Elections were held in 7 phases from 11 February to 8 March 2017 for 403 seats in the 17th Assembly. In that election, the BJP won 312 seats for the first time and secured a three-quarters majority in the UP Assembly. The Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance led by Akhilesh Yadav could win 54 seats. Apart from this, Mayawati’s BSP, which has been the chief minister of the state several times, was reduced to 19 seats. This time it is being considered as a direct confrontation between the Samajwadi Party and the BJP. The BJP is contesting the elections in the face of Yogi Adityanath and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Leave a Reply