The Assembly elections in Punjab this time are very interesting. Congress is in the fray over infighting. The Akali Dal has left the BJP and joined the BSP. At the same time, former CM Amarinder Singh from the Congress has formed his own party and is contesting elections in a BJP alliance. Thus the Aadmi Party is alone in the field. There are some seats where the competition is fierce. One such seat is Amritsar East. From this seat, Congress president Navjot Singh Sidhu and former cabinet minister Bikram Singh Majithia are facing this.

The Akali Dal has fielded senior party leader Bikram Singh Majithia against Congress Punjab unit chief Navjot Singh Sidhu from the Amritsar East seat. Bikram Singh Majithia and Navjot Singh Sidhu were once close friends. Today they are political enemies. This seat will see a do-or-die battle between the two.

Sidhu’s wife is an MLA
Sidhu’s wife Navjot Kaur was the candidate of SAD-BJP alliance from Amritsar East till 2012-17. Navjot Sidhu is a three-time BJP MP from Amritsar. In 2014, he left the seat for his ‘guru’ Arun Jaitley. He was later made a Rajya Sabha MP by the BJP. Not having a big role in Punjab, he left the party and resigned from Parliament.

The Majithia seat has been Bikram Singh’s stronghold
Majithia, who studied at Lawrence School in Sanawar, Himachal Pradesh, won the 2017 election from Majithia seat. Its winning margin in 2012 was 47,581. In 2017, it came to a margin of 22,884 votes. He also won the seat in 2007. His father Sardar Satyajit Singh Majithia is a former Deputy Minister of Defense.

Bikram Majithia had registered his candidature
Several candidates, including Punjab Deputy Chief Minister OP Soni and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Bikram Singh Majithia, had filed their nomination papers for the Assembly elections on Friday. Now Sidhu will fill the form on Saturday.

According to the affidavit attached to the nomination papers, Majithia has mentioned his residential and agricultural properties in Amritsar and Shimla and has declared 29 bus route permits approved by the state transport authority. Bikram and his wife have declared movable assets worth Rs 6 crore and immovable assets worth Rs 5.35 crore. Punjab Lok Congress candidate Harjinder Singh filed his nomination papers from Amritsar South seat.

The nomination process for the Punjab Assembly elections started on January 25 and will continue till February 1. The scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on February 2 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is February 4.

While who won the Amritsar East Assembly seat
1951: Sarup Singh, Shiromani Akali Dal
1957: Baldev Prakash, Bharatiya Jana Sangh
1962: Baldev Prakash, Bharatiya Jana Sangh
1967: Baldev Prakash, Bharatiya Jana Sangh
1969: Gyanchand Kharbanda, Indian National Congress
1972: Gyanchand Kharbanda, Indian National Congress
2012: Navjot Kaur Sidhu, Bharatiya Janata Party
2017: Navjot Singh Sidhu, Congress

Candidate from Amritsar East seat in 2022
Jeevanjot Kaur, AAP
Navjot Singh Sidhu, Congress
Bikram Singh Majithia, Akali Dal

Leave a Reply